Written by: | Posted on: | Category:

A total of ten Club Members competed with Velocette machines in the VMCC British Historic Racing (BHR) 2019 season, comprising Tony Ainley, John Fieldhouse, Tony Green, Nigel Heath, Sam Page, Oliver Presswood, Keith Riley, Grant Sellars, Kevin Thurston and Chris Wickett.All these Club Members qualify for the award of the Club’s donation of £40 for each of their magnificent total of 134 race starts, exceeding the previous record of 117 starts set in 2017.The Club is pleased to provide this funding in recognition of the public profile which our racers provide for the Velocette marque and for the Club and the many services it offers.

The Club’s range of racing trophies is awarded to the most outstanding Velocette-mounted competitors over the BHR season, irrespective of whether or not they are Club Members. We are pleased to report that, this time around, all the trophy winners were Club members.

The Dave Allcock Memorial Trophy is awarded on the basis of the highest points gained during the BHR season. The 2019 winner by the narrowest of margins in a long tussle with Tony Green is Keith Riley, who campaigned his very rapid and reliable MkII KSS, finishing every race he started.

The Renee Rhodes Trophy, awarded on the basis of the number of highest places achieved during the BHR season in the 350cc class, also goes to Keith Riley, with his impressive twenty-nine podium places including eleven wins.

The Arthur Lavington Trophy, the 500cc class equivalent of the Renee Rhodes Trophy, was insufficiently contested in 2019.

The Harold Willis Trophy is awarded to the most successful rider of a girder-forked machine who is not the winner of another Club trophy. The 2019 winner is Tony Green, achieving a grand total of twenty-six podium places, including three wins, aboard his rigid MAC.

Unfortunately, we were not able to be represented in the Manx Classic TT in 2019.

The Club is not currently in a position to provide support to Club members competing in other disciplines such as sprinting and hill-climbing, or in other road-racing series, primarily for reasons of administrative transparency, but those members do of course deserve equal recognition for flying the Velocette flag and the Club is very grateful to them for that.

Our grateful thanks, as always, to John Hannis for his help in compiling the analysis of the racing results.

The AGM on 29 March 2020 will include the presentation of the racing trophies and will provide an opportunity to recognise the achievements of all our racing members for the exposure they provide for the Club and for the Velocette marque.

© 2021 The Velocette Owners Club